Welcome To My World…..

I guess I should start by saying hello. So, here it is….Hello.  Blogging isn’t new for me. I’ve been writing editorials and blogs for years, just on other folks blogs and websites. Before the widespread use of computers, I used to write letters to the editor of my hometown newspaper. I read lots of Commentary and visited lot’s of people’s blogs. Then I got turned onto Margaret and Helen’s blog. They are so down to earth and commonsense about things. Sarcasm, wit, and plainspoken truth go a long way with me. So, if you’re still reading, then good. I hope you’ll enjoy what I have to say, and leave me some feedback, good or bad. It would be nice to know that someone is out there reading this. Anyway, I’m going to have a lot to say about a lot of things in the coming blogs. Sounds kind of funny. Coming blogs….. But, I digress. Let me tell you a little about me. After all, if we’re going to get acquainted here, you should know who you’re dealing with. And no, I promise this won’t be a lesson in narcissism, althought I am writing about my own sense of what I have experienced and learned, or not learned in my time on this planet. I was born in 1961, in central Massachusetts. I grew up in a city called Worcester. That’s pronounced Wu-stah. We don’t pronounce our “r’s” here very much, it just sort of ends up sounding more like an “h”. Comedian/Actor Dennis Leary grew up here, and if you like him, then you sort of get an understanding of what folks from Worcester can be like. I grew up in a nice, middle-class neighborhood, with lots of friends.  I graduated high school in 1979. The one thing that I always felt set me apart from my peers was the fact that I always took a keen interest in news and world-events.  I can remember so many of those events.  Like when I was 12, in 1973, I remember coming home from school and sitting down to watch the Watergate hearings, when all my other friends were outside playing. I remember the Moon Landings, Kent State, Vietnam, The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, RFK and MLK’s assasinations. Nixon resigning and Ford saying our long national nightmare was over. I remember Disco, and I wish I didn’t. Elvis dying in his bathroom. Reagan and his trickle-down Economics. Big hair and Parachute pants. Gorbachev, The collapse of Communism and The Soviet Union.  Then factor in all the things that happen to each of us personally, and I think you’ll begin to get an idea of how much there is for me to discuss with you.

So, now i’m 48. I’ve had more than my share of hard times, and my share of misfortune. But like Jim Croce sang in one of his final songs “The Hard Way Everytime”,  “Yeah i’ve had my share of good intentions and i’ve made my share of mistakes. And i’ve learned at times it’s best to bend, cause if you don’t, well, those are the breaks” How true. I have a lot to be thankful for. And I see a lot of things that frankly bug the hell out of me. Some of them Political, Some not.  So, I hope you’ll ride along with me, and experience and discuss these things together. As John Lennon sang in his 1971 album, Imagine, “All I want is the truth, just gimme some truth.” Obviously,  you can see I’m fond of musical quotes.  See you soon, OK? ‘Nuff said for now

Leave a Reply

